State Copyright Categories

These categories and states included are based on Messenger and Pittman’s February 2013 article, Can States Use Copyright to Restrict the Use of Public Records?

Another  resource to use when trying to determine if a state has a copyright statute are the American Association of Law Libraries State Online Legal Information reports.  Bear in mind this is an analysis of 6 primary legal publications in relation to UELMA; but it is a great starting point.

Category 1: Ambiguous Copyright 

  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Oklahoma
  • Ohio
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Washington D.C.

Category 2: Explicit Copyright

  • Colorado
  • Pennsylvania

Category 3: Limited Copyright requiring explicit statutory authority

  • California
  • Florida
  • Indiana
  • Texas

Category 4: Law that grants access to public information

Category 5: Explicitly Not Copyrighted

  • Hoping to find a state!

2 thoughts on “State Copyright Categories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.